Governing Board

The governing board oversees all decisions made about the running of the school. They support the head teacher in making the most appropriate choices regarding Teaching and Learning, Leadership and Management and School Finances.

Governing boards have a strong focus on four core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent
  • Ensuring Safeguarding policies are adhered to and reviewed regularly.

On 1st September 2018 Lillian deLissa Nursery School federated with 11 other Local Authority Maintained Nursery Schools. The Federation Governing Board:

Our Federation Governor Business Interests table is available on this link:


The 12 schools are clustered into 4 smaller groups, each served by a 'Scrutiny Committee'. These groups are:

-Allens Croft NS, Shenley Fields NS & Jakeman NS

-Kings Norton NS, Selly Oak NS & Weoley Castle

-Lillian de Lissa NS, St Thomas Centre NS & Newtown NS

-Adderley NS, Gracelands NS & Highfield NS


The people listed below are our Scrutiny Committee:

Mandy Cryan, Executive Head Teacher, Newtown, Lillian de Lissa and StThomas Nursery Schools. 

Margaret Sullivan, Co-opted governor – Chair of Local Board

John Ritson, Co-opted Governor, Vice of Local Board

Sally Andrews, Co-Opted Governor

Lorna Rose, Co-Opted Governor with S.E.N.D Responsibilities

Yupu Lin, Co-opted Governor

James Clarke, Co-opted Governor

Non-Voting Assosiates

Sarah Roberts, Associate Governor - Deputy Head Teacher – Newtown Nursery School, SENCO

Sally Appadu, Associate Governor - Deputy Head Teacher – Lillian de Lissa Nursery School

Mark Tyler, Clerk to the Governors



You can contact the governors at any time.
Email: You can contact the Clerk to the Birmingham Federation of Maintained Nursery Schools on:
Post: A sealed letter can be handed to the Federation Chair of Governors, Mr Sean Delaney via the school office.

Birmingham Federation of Maintained Nursery Schools logo